The Stretch Has Ended: A Senior Column by Matt Scalzo

Posted May 2, 2024 | Article by Matt Scalzo | Photos Courtesy of Matt Scalzo

When I first learned about writing a senior column, I hesitated. I didn’t really want to do it, but as time moved on, I realized I would be remiss if I didn’t. So in true me fashion, I’m doing this “over the air” as I record this into Adobe Audition and as well as journalist’s best friend Otter. 

My CommRadio journey began in August of 2021. It was in the Muller Laboratory in the central part of Penn State’s campus, and I had PSU 9 which was my only in-person class. My classmates were six feet apart from me, we all wore masks and my teacher entered the room twice. 

The first time, they were quiet, they seemed mad and angry and then they walked out. Then they returned all excited and happy, so pumped to be there. He asked us which teacher would you rather have? Well, naturally, you want the second and that person. That teacher changed my entire college career. 

It was Jeff Brown. 

Jeff sold me on CommRadio within the first day of class. He told me if you wanted to get on air, if you want to be a sports broadcaster, you join CommRadio. Well, when he said that, I’m like, Absolutely. That’s what I want to do. I have to join this. So I went to the interest meetings on Zoom. I went to some sports meetings on zoom as well and got involved. 

Now if Jeff had sat me down, and looked at me and said, “Matt, you’re going to call more games and you can count across CommRadio big 10 Plus and even ESPN Plus, you’re going to call a Penn State football game under the lights of Beaver Stadium. As a sophomore, you’ll take trips to West Lafayette, Indiana, Piscataway, New Jersey, College Park, Maryland, and The Horseshoe in Columbus, Ohio. You’ll get the chance to call the Peach Bowl in Atlanta at Mercedes Benz stadium and you’ll experience the magic of March at the Big Ten Tournament in Chicago. You’ll have two summer internships that will change your life, one in a small New England town (Roll Meese) and the other in a well known New England destination and win a championship with that one (Go Bravos). You will remember your love for sports such as basketball and lacrosse. And on top of it all, and this is the most important one is you will meet so many wonderful people that will change your life.”

Now first I would look back at Jeff and say, “that’s crazy, but where do I sign?”

In this hypothetical, I could only assume that Jeff would pass on the wisdom that I learned from my high school football coach. The only way to get the opportunities is to prove you are the hardest worker in the room. 

So, while I never started in high school football (which was for the better), I never stopped working because that I love broadcasting. That realization came on State College Saturdays with Chris Hess and most notably talking about then Michigan State quarterback Rocky Lombardi. 

That show kickstarted my career and helped me find my voice. Each day since I’ve worked on my craft, always striving for more and I don’t plan on stopping soon. 

All those experiences above have been once-in-a-lifetime moments and some of them I look back on and are moved to tears at how far I’ve come. I’ll catch some flack from my siblings for saying that but it’s true. 

As I gazed out over the pregame festivities at Ohio Stadium ahead of Penn State at Ohio State, I felt a wave of emotion crash over me. It’s hard not to when you’re a broadcaster, there have been so many phenomenal once-in-a-lifetime experiences for me and I can’t wait to see how many more I have down the road. 

As I look back on my four years I remember something that Peyton Manning said in his retirement speech from the NFL. “When someone thoroughly exhausted an experience they can’t help but revere it.” 

I revere CommRadio, I love this station. 

As I record this in the CommRadio studio in the Donald P. Bellisario Media Center and take in my last moments, I continue to remember all the wonderful things I’ve experienced. So you don’t have to wonder if I’ll miss it. 

I’ll tell you now to enjoy the little things in life. Because as I look back on my journey, it’s the little things that stand out to me the most. The little things are the big things is something I’ve learned. So here are some of the little things I’ll always miss. 

All the laughs I shared with people at meetings or in the Willard Building. I will miss the broadcasts with all the wonderful people I’ve had the chance to work with, and especially the pregame fist bumps. I will miss working with my fellow insiders on basketball, lacrosse and football. I will miss creating schedules with the sports directors and us pulling our hair out over board op and producer switches. I’ll especially miss the moments where I’m surrounded by those people that have become family. 

That last point is the most important one. Everyone needs to know how much people have meant to me over the years. People are at the core of what makes CommRadio so remarkable.

There have been people that have molded me into who I become and people that have been with me every step of the way. I have to thank those that came before me, that molded me into the broadcaster and person I am today, such as Austin Groft, Preston Shoemaker, Andrew Destin, Andre Magaro, Jake Starr and the aforementioned Chris Hess. 

I also have to thank those that have become my closest friends, but there’s too many to name in that regard. 

I especially have to thank Jeff again, because without his elevator pitch for CommRadio in PSU 9, then who knows where I would be (probably in business like the rest of my family). 

Speaking of my family, I have to give them all the thanks in the world because while there was hesitation at first for me going into this route. Rightfully so, I am by nature someone that’s a quiet, shy kid and I was going into a profession that requires speaking a whole lot. Through these four years their support has never wavered and has only grown stronger as I approach graduation. 

To my mom and dad, and my siblings, Joe, Dan and Maggie. I love you so much and I cannot put into words how much you have meant to me along my journey. 

I know that the end of my CommRadio career is just the beginning of something more. Life will change, doors will open and new experiences will begin. So while the CommRadio doors are closing, I will never forget where I began. 

Also in Peyton Manning’s retirement speech, he had a scripture reading that has stuck with me for the last few months. 2 Timothy 4:7, “I have fought the good fight, and I have finished the race. I have kept the faith.” 

Well, I fought a good fight, and I finished my CommRadio race. As the moment for me to walk across the stage at the Bryce Jordan Center approaches, I am ready for it because of CommRadio. So for one final time, I’m Matt Scalzo, signing off, The Stretch has ended.

Leave a comment